Home‎ > ‎Soccer Trivia‎ > ‎

Goalie Passback Rule

posted Nov 6, 2011, 11:33 AM by RCR Webmaster
The Law is clear: “An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, . . . touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate.”

The Goalie cannot pick up the ball if it was deliberately kicked to him by a teammate... he can only pick it up if it was last touched by an opponent or if it was accidentally kicked to him by a teammate, or was passed from a teammate using the head, chest, knee, etc. instead of the feet. Once he picks up the ball he has six seconds to punt it or release it.
Comments